All Texas Democrats in the House formally voted to support impeachment inquiry

by | Oct 31, 2019 | Impeachment, Politics

On Thursday, in a historic move, the U.S. House of Representatives voted to pass a resolution formalizing the impeachment inquiry into Donald Trump’s abuse of power. 

Although there is no legal requirement for the House to vote on an impeachment inquiry, Speaker Nancy Pelosi decided to hold a full House vote in order to counter Republican attacks that the process is illegitimate.

The resolution reaffirms the ongoing impeachment inquiry against Trump and establishes the rules of the road going forward, which include open hearings and the release redacted transcripts. They also allow for the president or his counsel to participate in impeachment proceedings, with the caveat that this right can be revoked if the White House refuses to cooperate with the inquiry.

“It is the responsibility of Congress to investigate the matters of the President’s conduct with the seriousness and fairness they require,” said Rep. Lizzie Fletcher of Houston in a statement. “It is the responsibility of the President and his administration to participate fully in that investigation: to comply with the law and the Constitution.”  

The impeachment investigation was triggered last month following a CIA whistleblower who flagged national security and abuse of power concerns around a phone call between Trump and Ukraine’s president. In closed hearings held by the House over the past few weeks, evidence is mounting that Trump pressured a foreign country to dig up dirt on an American citizen, who is also a political rival. 

Public opinion has shifted dramatically over the past few weeks, with a solid majority of the country backing not just an investigation of Trump but his total removal from office.

The resolution passed the House 232 to 196. All except two Democrats voted for the resolution. Not a single Republican crossed party lines. The entire Democratic Texas delegation voted “yay” for the resolution, including: 

Colin Allred

Joaquin Castro

Veronica Escobar

Sylvia Garcia

Henry Cuellar

Veronica Escobar

Lizzie Fletcher

Lloyd Doggett

Marc Veasey

Filemon Vela

Eddie Bernice Johnson

Sheila Jackson Lee

Al Green

Vicente Gonzalez

Photo: Win McNamee/Getty Images

Are you tired of Texas Republicans pushing big lies and trying to steal your vote? So are we, that’s why we’re fighting back against the right-wing lie machine. Our commitment to ethical, fact-based journalism is vital to our democracy, and we can’t do it without you. Consider donating today to help us stay in this fight.

Continue Reading

Lina Hidalgo Announces Mental Health Leave

Lina Hidalgo Announces Mental Health Leave

This afternoon Harris County Judge Lina Hidalgo announced she has been taking a leave of absence from her position to seek treatment for depression. The Houston Chronicle broke the news about Hidalgo, who has been at an inpatient facility since July. Throughout her...